Neurobiology of Information Storage Training Program (NISTP)

The Neurobiology of Information Storage Training Program (NISTP) provides a select group of predoctoral trainees a comprehensive research and training opportunity in fundamental aspects of information storage. NISTP fosters a broad overview of the different areas of information storage research, including molecular biology, cell biology, neurochemistry, cellular physiology and biophysics, transmembrane signaling systems, cognitive neuroscience, neuropsychology, and brain imaging. The program has provided a formal mechanism for bringing together molecular/cellular approaches with cognitive, neurological and clinical approaches.

NISTP is a purely predoctoral training program that supports 5 trainees per year. Trainees are selected by a Steering Committee from among nominations solicited from preceptors. Selection is based on outstanding evaluations from research rotation and thesis advisors, strong performance in coursework, strong letters of support from faculty, and a detailed research plan consistent with the training program objectives.


Routtenberg, Aryeh, PhD

Associate Director:

Woolley, Catherine, PhD

Steering Committee:

Routtenberg, Aryeh, PhD
Woolley, Catherine, PhD
Contractor, Anis, PhD
Dombeck, Dan, PhD
Gottfried, Jay, MD,PhD
Swanson, Geoff, PhD

View list of all Faculty Profiles associated this grant


Chetkovich, Dane, MD, PhD Miller, Richard, PhD
Contractor, Anis, PhD Nusslock, Robin, PhD Surmeier, Jr., D. James, PhD
Disterhoft, John, PhD Radulovic, Jelena, MD, PhD Weintraub, Sandra, PhD
Kessler, John, MD Raman, Indira, PhD Woolley, Catherine, PhD
Kessler, John, MD Routtenberg, Aryeh, PhD Zee, Phyllis, MD, PhD
Kozorovitskiy, Yevgenia, PhD Spruston, Nelson, PhD
Maccaferri, Gianmaria, PhD Routtenberg, Aryeh, PhD


PreDoctoral Trainees:

Michael Adoff (Advisor: Daniel Dombeck, PhD)
Dominic Frank (Advisor: Marco Gallio, PhD)
Anant Jain (Advisor: Catherine Woolley, PhD)
Kyle Lyman (Advisor: Dane Chetkovich, MD, PhD)
Daniel O’Young (Advisor: Joel Voss, PhD)
Christine Remmers (Advisor: Anis Contractor, PhD)
Yeechan Wu (Advisor: Indira Raman, PhD)

For more information, contact: Sally McIver,